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TEXAS VITAL STATISTICS 

TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES 
P.O. BOX 12040 

AUSTIN, TEXAS 78711-2040 
PHONE (888) 963-7111 

 
APPLICATION FOR CERTIFIED COPY OF BIRTH OR DEATH RECORD 

 

   Birth Certificates 
 

PLEASE PRINT 
See Reverse Side for Instructions 

  Death Certificates 
 
 

 
# REQUESTED 
 

___ CERTIFIED COPIES     X     $22.00  ____ 
 

___ WALLET-SIZE               X     $22.00  ____ 
 

___ HEIRLOOM                    X     $60.00  ____ 
 

 

TOTAL ENCLOSED = __________ 
 

 

 
# REQUESTED 
 

___ CERTIFIED COPY          X     $20.00  _____ 
 

___ EXTRA COPIES               
       OF SAME RECORD        X       $3.00 _____ 
 

 

TOTAL ENCLOSED = __________ 
                                                                              

 
 

1. Full Name of 
Person on Record 

First Name 
 

Middle Name 
 

Last Name 
 

2. Date of   
Birth or Death 

Month 
 

Day 
 

Year 
 

Sex 
           Male      Female 

3. Place of  
Birth or Death 

City or Town 
 

County 
 

State 
 

4. Full Name of 
Father 

First Name 
 

Middle Name 
 

Last Name 
 

5. Full Maiden 
Name of Mother 

First Name 
 

Middle Name 
 

Maiden Name 
 

 

6. YOUR NAME: ____________________________________________________  7. TELEPHONE #: _(____)__________________ 
 
8. MAILING ADDRESS: _______________________________________________________________________________________ 

                                                STREET ADDRESS                                                         CITY                         STATE                            ZIP 
 

9. RELATIONSHIP TO PERSON NAMES IN ITEM 1: _______________________________________________________________ 
 
10. PURPOSE FOR OBTAINING THIS RECORD: __________________________________________________________________ 
 
11. ADDITIONAL IDENTIFYING FOR DEATH CERTIFICATE 
 

      SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER OF DECEASED ____________________________        

      BIRTHDATE _________________________     BIRTH PLACE, ECT. ________________________________________________ 
 

 
Fees are subject to change without notice (call 512-458-7111 for fee verification). For any search of the files where a record is not 
found, the searching fee is not refundable or transferable. 
 

You can expect to receive you certificate within 6-8 weeks. 
 

This fee rate(s) was set by the Texas Board of Heath and was not mandated by the Texas Legislature. 
 

Birth records are confidential for 75 years and death records for 25 years; therefore, issuance is restricted. 
 

Administrative rules require that on restricted records, all identifying information (Item 1-5), relationship (Item 9), and purpose (Item10) 
be provided in order to issue the record. 
  
 
 
 
 

ATTACH PHOTOCOPY OF VALID IDENTIFICATION. APPLICATION WILL NOT BE 
PROCESSED WITHOUT IDENTIFICATION. 

 
 

YOUR SIGNATURE       DATE OF APPLICATION     
 
IDENTIFICATION TYPE ____________________________________________     NUMBER _____________________ 

WARNING: THE PENALTY FOR KNOWINGLY MAKING A FALSE STATEMENT IN THIS FORM CAN BE 2-10 YEARS 
IN PRISON AND A FINE OF UP TO $10,000. (HEALTH AND SAFETY CODE, CHAPTER 195, SEC. 195.003) 
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICATION FOR CERTIFIED COPY OF A BIRTH OR DEATH RECORD 

 
Check the appropriate box either a Birth or Death record. 
 
Indicate the number of records requested and compute the amount of money to be sent. PLEASE DO NOT SEND 
CASH THROUGH THE MAIL. WE SUGGEST YOU SEND WITHER A PERSONAL CHECK OR MONEY ORDER 
MADE PAYABLE TO: DSHS – VITAL STATISTICS. 
 
Item 1. Name of Record: 
  State the FULL NAME of the person shown on the record being requested. 
 
Item 2. Date of Event: (The date of the birth OR death.) 

Give the exact date of the birth or day the person died. (If you do not know that exact date of death, 
then give the date the person was last known to be alive.) 

 Sex: 
  Check the appropriate box, male or female. 
 
Item 3.  Place of Event: 

State the name of the city or county in which the birth or death occurred. (If you do not know the 
exact place of death, show the last address known when the person was alive). 

 
Item 4.  Father’s Name: 
  Give the full name of the father of the person shown on the record. 
 
Item 5.  Mother’s Maiden Name: 
  Give the FULL MAIDEN NAME of the mother of the person shown on the record. 
 
Item 6. Applicant’s Name: 
  GIVE YOUR full name. 
 
Item 7.  Telephone Number: 

Give is a telephone number with area code where you can be reached between the hours of 8 am 
and 5 pm, Monday through Friday. 

 
Item 8. ADDITIONAL IDENTIFYING INFORMATION FOR DEATH CERTIFICATE:  

This additional information assists our staff in positively identifying a record when exact date, places 
and spelling of the name (s) are not known for a death certificate: 

 
  Social security Number of the deceased 
  Birthdate of the deceased 
  Birthplace of the deceased 
  Any other information that would be helpful in identifying the record of an individual 
 
Item 9. Mailing Address: 
  Give is your complete current mailing address. 
 
Item 10. Relationship to person named on the record: 
  State how you are related to the person whose record you requesting. 
 
Item 11. Purpose for obtaining the record: 
  State the reason or purpose for which you are requesting the record. 
 
 
SIGN AND DATE THE APPLICATION. ENCLOSE A PHOTOCOPY OF YOUR ID WITH A PICTURE ON IT 
(PHOTOCOPY OF PICTURE ID).  MAIL TO ADDRESS AT TOP OF APPLICATION FORM WITH THE CORRECT 
FEE (S). 
  

WWW.DSHS.STATE.TX.US/VS 
 


